Weekly Reflection

After presenting an update for my tutor, it seems that I’m on track with the schedule. I showed the 80% completed 3D environments set up in After Effects, the latest rough animation for the initial shots and the voice recording of the actors.

The only key element that needed change was the father character’s voice was too high in pitch. This will be something that I need to discuss with my sound designer if it is possible to lower the pitch without losing too much quality.

For the most part, I am glad to see the work is progressing, however I do feel that I need to pick up the pace.

Prior to my tutorial, we had a symposium on the topic ‘Strategies of Documentation’, which each student had to make a 5 minute presentation on. It was interesting to see how each person thinks and makes judgements. Although a number of things mentioned I was already aware of, it was helpful to know others thought the same as well and this was encouraging. Such things included being active on social media and forums.

Another important thing to keep in mind is trying to understand what makes working methods and strategies effective. If there is any patterns and what works best for me and perhaps for a wider group of people.

Normally I tend to write down a few bullet points on post it notes to try to achieve at the end of the day. Normally this has been effective as I first need to sort out in my mind what exactly needs to be done and consider the realistic outcome of it. It has been helpful that Kate my tutor has suggested in cutting some of the scenes from my animation, or else it would be harder to handle the animation within the given time.

Leave a Reply

